Lashbrook & Simmons (1886-1889)

Lashbrook & Simmons manufactured and sold men’s and women’s shoes. Fred J. Lashbrook and Robert S. Simmons started the company in 1886 and specialized in custom work, including “boots, shoes, and rubbers,” which they sold out of their 157 ½ Dundas Street location. The image above captures the interior of their Dundas Street Storefront, featuring employees and a sample of their boots to the right. While the business was short-lived, closing in 1889, it offered a unique perspective into custom shoemaking in London at the end of the 19th century.